top of page
  • Writer's pictureGod's Daughter

It's Not All Bad



Reading: Romans 15


Perseverance, something I figured I needed if I was going to do this blog. In other words perseverance is something needed in our Christian walk. This has nothing to do with what I read it is just a topic or a word that has been on my mind since Friday. I have come to learn through experience and through others that when we are on the right path that is the moment we are going to be tempted and tried the most. It is in that moment I need to be able to stand firm in God and not waver. For most of my life I had experience some sort of issue when I decided that I was going to walk right with God, when I picked myself from my hole aka pity party and follow God. The weeks that I read the Bible more the more opportunities came my way to slip up or the more my brain tend to wander off to worldly thoughts.


A huge part of my life I always got annoyed when something came along to get me off route. That annoyance led me to anger, self-hate and obviously took my eyes off God. I always told myself that I am doing something wrong, I am not a good Christian and maybe I was following the wrong thing. One day, I stumbled on James 1:2-3 and my perspective on trials and ugly circumstances that comes about on my good times with God was not a bad thing. In fact it showed me that I am doing something right because the enemy is fighting back or simply trying to make his presence known. I believe in moments like those is when God will strengthen you to withstand the situation you are facing but that is if our faith is in God and we are feeding ourselves with His Words. If you need some verses to encourage you through these moments here are a couple:



It is important to keep ourselves in God despite how busy life becomes so when we are hit by trials and temptations we are ready. My Pastor once said that it is good to memorize bible verses so that when we are in the middle of a storm or rain we can recite a verse and not have flip through our bible to find something. We do not know when the devil is going to hit us so it is smarter to always be on guard and never have a lazy period.


This summer I had to observe the kids I work with so I can get to know any signs of an upcoming crisis and try to prevent it. An example will be a kid might make their hand into a fist and get really quiet, some kids might get really excited and aggressive, a kid might come and ask for a hug and so on. Bringing this into my Christian walk I should realize when I am getting weak in the Lord and find ways to pick ourself up again. Recently I noticed that I was not doing my devotion blogs and that was just because I was not giving a lot of time to God compare to the time I gave to others things. Therefore in trying to help, I tried to have mini bible discussions with friends or siblings that will get me into the bible (Bible discussions makes me run for my Bible!), I will play Christian music or simply pray for a little while. We are human we are going to fail sometimes or just lose motivation but we always have to catch ourselves and get at it again.


I love the gym but it gets boring for me doing the same thing over and over and over again. When I've gotten bored enough I stop going to the gym and I just start slacking. I will slack for sucha a long time that going back to the gym again will be such a hard thing to do. Eventually I will go back with a different regiment and I will try to change things up so it stays more interesting for me. Once again for me my Christian life is the same, if I only do bible devotions by myself or if I just become bored with my Christian routine I start slacking. Even though getting bored of it should not be a thing, it happens so I will try to make it a bit more fun and personalize for me. I will add more discussions, more creative ideas, I'll attend church more so I can get that socializing in and so on. Another important thing that I mentioned in my gym example was it is harder to get back to the gym the longer you stay from it. I feel like the Christina walk is the same. When I stay away from my bible for months it is harder for me to get back to it. So I try not to go a week without reading my Bible. It could be a simple reading or a whole devotion but slacking a week is like stretching it for me. Any who, this is getting long haha so I will end it here.

bottom of page