top of page
  • Writer's pictureGod's Daughter

What Does The Holy Spirit Do To Our Faith?


I read Romans 5 & 6 today but I also continued my trail of thoughts from yesterday's devotion. So, the question was "What does the Holy Spirit do to my faith?" and that lead me to ask a lot of basic questions but also questions I never pondered on. I'm going to repeat some of the content in the last post today because the topics from yesterday introduces today's blog. I even had to go back and reread some stuffs from yesterday to remind myself.


What is faith?

Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen. It gives us assurance about things we cannot see. (Hebrews 11:1).


How do I and others know I have faith?

Our faith shows in our actions as it was mentioned in the previous blog. According to the Bible there was a couple of people who demonstrated faith though obedience, giving God their best, pleasing God, believing God, looking to a better place and not their past. In James 2:14-26 it talks about how our faith should be shown through our actions and that "just as a body is dead without breath, so also faith is dead without good works."


Can we grow in our faith?

Yes, apparently we can grow in our faith, which I was shocked by but I guess I knew there was levels I just never studied it. In 1 John 2:12-14 John mentions people who are "mature in faith" and those who are "young in faith". This going to show that there are levels of faith and that we should and can grow in it. Ephesians 4:5-16 talks about how the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the pastors and teachers are meant to help the others grow till we are all at the same faith and knowledge level in unity. This will prevent us from shaking in our belief but have a firm foundation in God.


Through this study I learnt that we develop faith through the Spirit because in Galatians 5:22 it mentions faithfulness as one of the fruit of the Spirit. But what exactly does the Holy Spirit do to our faith? Does it give us faith or does it just strengthen our faith?


What is the purpose of the Holy Spirit?

Thanks to ChristianityToday for pointing me to the right verse, John 16: 5-15 tells us what the Holy Spirit is to do when we receive it. The verse tells us that It will advocate for us, convict us, make us righteous, guide us, intercede for us and help us to stop sinning. For this topic, Ephesians 3:14-21 gives us more of an answer we want which is the Holy Spirit strengthens us, keeps us strong, and gives us understanding.


So, what does it do to our faith?

Based on Ephesians 3:14-21 we know that it gives us strength and keeps us strong while helping us to understand God's word and promises. I'll like to believe that the more we understand God the more easier it is to have faith in Him. Having more knowledge on someone makes me know them more and once I get that connection I can easily trust them. It is like a friendship, when I understand my friend and their habits I know what they will do and what they won't so I can begin to rely on them for certain things.


How can we grow our faith?

Knowing all the information I have, all fingers are pointing to spending time with God, reading His Words and praying to Him (simply talking to Him). Our relationship with Him is like any other friendship, the more time I spend with Him, learning more and just chitchatting I am are going to know more about Him and that will make it easier for me to have faith in Him. Being consistent and desiring more and more of Him will grow my faith. Another important thing is to ask for the Holy Spirit because I can try my best to have faith in Him but the Holy Spirit legitimizes it all by changing me from the inside out.


bottom of page